BROCCHINIA

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Brocchinia réducta

5 SPECIES, 2 ARE CONSIDERED AS PROTOCARNIVORES

Brocchinia hectioides et Brocchinia réducta

 

USUAL NAME

Unknown

FAMILY

Bromeliaceae

 
History and etymology

In 1830, JH Schultes assign a name to these plants, in honor of Italian naturalist G. Brocchi. Both species are recognised as carnivores through experiments conducted in 1974, 1984 for Brocchinia reducta and 1986 for Brocchinia hectioides.

Distribution
 

They are located in Venezuela in an area of the Gran Sabana, which includes a set of sandstone plateaux called "Tepuy.

Biotope
 

The Brocchinia often grow in colonies in savannas and sandy peat soils with acidic pH, and on rocks. The climate is very wet, is favored by many storms forming over the Amazon rainforest and dumping heavy rains on the Tepuys. Temperatures are undergoing major changes through the interplay of the low stability of the weather. Sometimes a plant of genus Cottendorifia, Drosera, Stegolepis, etc.. accompany them.

Description
 

They are terrestrial erected plants, 30-50 cm high. Leaves are narrow gutter-shaped, green and organised in rosette. Traps are formed by the leaves and collect water such as reservoirs. Insects are attracted by the scent given off by plants and slide to the bottom where they drow. Bacteria digest the non-chitinous parts of the prey. Absorption occurs through trichrome which are small glandular hairs.

The prey are often insects: Diptera, Hymenoptera ...

The white flowers are arranged in inflorescence of a small size, 5 mm.

Brocchinia hectioides

Brocchinia tatei

Brocchinia with Utricularia humboltii

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 

 


Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

BROCCHINIA

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Brocchinia réducta

5 ESPECES DONT 2 SONT CONSIDEREES COMME PROTOCARNIVORES

Brocchinia hectioides et Brocchinia réducta

 

NOMS USUELS

Inconnus

FAMILLE

Bromeliaceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

En 1830, J.H. Schultes attribue un nom à ces plantes, en l'honneur du naturaliste italien G. Brocchi. Les deux espèces sont reconnues carnivores grâce à des expériences entreprises en 1974 et en 1984 pour Brocchinia reducta et en 1986 pour Brocchinia hectioides.

Distribution
 

Elles sont localisées au Venezuela dans une région de la Gran Sabana qui comprend un ensemble de plateaux gréseux appelés "Tepuys".

Biotope
 

Les Brocchinia poussent souvent en colonies dans des savanes au sol tourbeux et sableux au pH acide, ainsi que sur des rochers. Le climat, très humide, est favorisé par les nombreux orages se formant au-dessus de la forêt amazonienne et déversant leurs violentes pluies sur les plateaux. Les températures subissent de grandes variations par le jeu de la faible stabilité du temps. Parfois certaines plantes du genre Cottendorifia, Drosera, Stegolepis, etc., les accompagnent.

Description
 

Ce sont des plantes terrestres, dressées, de 30 à 50 cm de haut. Les feuilles étroites en forme de gouttière,de couleur verte, sont réunies en rosette. Les pièges formés par les feuilles, recueillent l'eau comme des réservoirs. Les insectes attirés par l'odeur que dégagent les plantes pénètrent dans ces toboggans qui les conduisent à la noyade. Ce sont des bactéries qui digèrent les parties non chitineuses des proies. L'absorption se réalise grâce à des trichromes qui sont des petits poils glanduleux.

Les proies sont souvent des insectes: Diptères, Hyménoptères...

Les fleurs blanches disposées en inflorescence sont de taille réduite, 5 mm.

 

Brocchinia hectioides

Brocchinia tatei

Brocchinia avec Utricularia humboltii

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander