BYBLIS

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Byblis liniflora

7 SPECIES

Byblis gigantea, Byblis aquatica, Byblis rorida, Byblis liniflora,
Byblis filifolia et Byblis lamelata, Byblis guehoii

 

USUAL NAME

Raimbow plant

FAMILY

Byblidaceae

 
History and etymology

The first description was made for Byblis liniflora in 1808 by R. A Salisbury, and in 1839, for Byblis gigantea. Nine years later, J. E Planchon and G. Bentham linked the genus to the Pittosporaceae family. Then, around 1860, it was classified as Lentibulariaceae. K. Domin, in 1920 ended this journey by classifying the genus in the Byblidaceae family.

Several stories about the origin of the name exist, they share the heartache, the loss of a loved one. "There is always the tears that run down their cheeks, they will reach the ground." Of these, would be born the Byblis.

Distribution

Byblis liniflora come from the north coast of Australia, Western Australia at Goldsworthy, through the Northwest Territories, its eastern boundary is around Mackay. There is also some plants in New Guinea in the swamps near Merauke.

Byblis gigantea are limited to a small area stretching from south of Geraldton to the south of Perth and east near Lake Moore.

Biotope

Byblis liniflora grows under a tropical climate, temperatures range between 16 and 40 °. The sandy river banks and the edges of temporary ponds and swamps, are favourable environments to the development of the plant. A strong or moderate light suit him. The genera such as Myrtaceae, Droseraceae, are part of phytosociological alliances.

Byblis gigantea grows in a Mediterranean climate, with rainy winter and dry summer. The sites are very wet in winter and dry during the summer. The sandy soil with very low humus, can sometimes be rocky, the species can even grow on rocks. These plants grow often with others, the vast majority of them are Droseraceae.

Description

Herbaceous, terrestrial plants, more or less perennial, 20-30 cm high (B. liniflora) or semi-woody 50-70 cm high (B. gigantea). The port is bushy. The yellowish green leaves of both species are long and thin, shorter in B. liniflora.

Traps are formed by the leaves and flower stalks covered with pedunculated glands that secrete a sticky mucilage. Sessile glands of 30 microns, provide digestion.

The prey are insects: Diptera, Lepidoptera ...

Flowers are pale blue, rarely pink or white, 1 cm in diameter and are self-fertilized in B. liniflora. Those of B. gigantea are 4 cm in diameter and are purple or sometimes white, fertilization occurs only if a mechanical resonance phenomenon is caused by the motion of insect wings.
Byblis gigantea

Byblis filifolia

Byblis lamelata

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

BYBLIS

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Byblis liniflora

7 ESPECES

Byblis gigantea, Byblis aquatica, Byblis rorida, Byblis liniflora,
Byblis filifolia et Byblis lamelata, Byblis guehoii

 

NOMS USUELS

Plante arc en ciel, Raimbow plant, en anglais

FAMILLE

Byblidaceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

La première description fut faite pour Byblis liniflora en 1808 par R. A Salisbury, et en 1839, pour Byblis gigantea. Neuf ans plus tard, J. E Planchon et G. Bentham rattachent le Genre dans la famille des Pittosporaceae. Puis, vers 1860, elles sont classées dans les Lentibulariaceae. C'est K. Domin, en 1920, qui met fin à leur périple en classant le Genre dans la famille des Byblidaceae.

Plusieurs histoires sur l'origine du nom existent, elles ont en commun le chagrin d'amour, la perte d'un être cher. " Il y a toujours des larmes qui coulent sur les joues, elles vont rejoindre le sol." De celles-ci, seraient nées les Byblis.

Distribution

Byblis liniflora provient des côtes du nord de l'Australie, de l'ouest de l'Australie au niveau de Goldsworthy, passant par les Territoires du Nord, sa limite est se situe vers Mackay. Il existe aussi en Nouvelle-Guinée dans les marécages près de Merauke.

Byblis gigantea est limité à une petite zone qui s'étend du sud de Geraldton jusqu'au sud de Perth et à l'est près du lac Moore.

Biotope

Byblis liniflora pousse sous un climat tropical, les températures varient entre 16 et 40°. Les berges des rivières sablonneuses ainsi que les bords des mares temporaires et les marais, sont des milieux favorables à l'épanouissement de la plante. Une lumière importante ou modérée lui convient. Un cortège de plantes telles que les Myrtaceae, Droseraceae, font partie des alliances phytosociologiques.

Byblis gigantea se développe sous un climat de type méditerranéen, hiver pluvieux et été sec. Les sites sont très humides en hiver et s'assèchent pendant la période estivale. Le soi sableux à très faible taux humus, peut parfois être caillouteux, l'espèce peut même croître sur des rochers. Les plantes accompagnatrices sont pour la grande majorité des Droseraceae.

Description

Plantes herbacées, terrestres, plus ou moins vivaces, de 20 à 30 cm de haut (B. liniflora) ou semi-ligneuses de 50 à 70 cm de haut (B. gigantea). Le port est buissonnant. Les feuilles vert jaunâtre des deux espèces sont longues et fines, plus courtes chez B. liniflora.

Les pièges sont constitués par les feuilles et les tiges florales couvertes de glandes pédiculées qui sécrètent un mucilage collant. Les glandes sessiles de 30 microns, assurent la digestion.

Les proies sont des insectes: Diptères, Lépidoptères...

Les fleurs bleu pâle, rarement roses ou blanches, de 1 cm de diamètre sont auto-fécondes chez B. liniflora. Celles de B. gigantea de 4 cm de diamètre sont mauves et parfois blanches, leur fécondation ne se produit que si un phénomène de résonance mécanique est créé par les mouvements d'ailes d'un insecte.

 

Byblis gigantea

Byblis filifolia

Byblis lamelata

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander