DARLINGTONIA

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Darlingtonia californica

A SINGLE SPECIES


Darlingtonia californica
and a cultivar D. 'Othello'

 

USUAL NAME

Cobra lily

FAMILY

Sarraceniaceae

 

 
History and etymology

In 1841, a plant was discovered  in the Shasta Mountains region in California by to J. D. Brackenbridge. The first published description was made in 1853 by J. Torrey who dedicated it to his friend, botanist Dr. W. Darlington.

Distribution

The plant is found naturally in Oregon and California, on an axis running from Roseburg in Santa Rosa and a radius of 80 km to the west and east of the axis. 

Biotope

The diversity of locations and altitudes at which grows Darlingtonia is such that despite an overall cool and humid climate, the temperature differences are important. The annual rainfall are highly variable, from 100 cm to 200 cm according to the states. The soil called serpentine (hydrated magnesium silicate) display some large populations of plants and a flow of cold water is going under the surface, maintaining cool temperatures in the root level. In some environments, Sphagnum, Drosera, Pinguicula, Cypripedium ... grow with the Cobra Lily.

Description

Perennial herbaceous plant, 40-100 cm high. The green leaves, are radical and cone-shaped. The upper ends in a dome, with an appendix mustache-shapped. The opening of the pitcher is located under the hood.

Traps are formed by leaves with suggestive forms that capture prey. They arise on "mustaches" that are looking like runways. The insects entering in the pitchers, attracted by the nectar, and slides on the bottom, where it can no longer come up and be digested by bacteria only.

The prey are mostly composed of insects: Coleoptera, Diptera ...

The single flower is supported by scapes, have brown petals and green sepals.

 

 

Ressemblance with
a snake head


Darlingtonia in cultivation

Flowers

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

DARLINGTONIA

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Darlingtonia californica

1 SEULE ESPECE


Darlingtonia californica
et un cultivar D. 'Othello'

 

NOMS USUELS

Plante cobra, Cobra lily, en anglais

FAMILLE

Sarraceniaceae

 

 
Histoire et étymologie

En 1841, on découvrit la plante dans la région des monts Shasta en Californie grâce à J. D. Brackenbridge. La première publication descriptive fut faite en 1853 par J. Torrey qui la dédia à son ami botaniste le Dr W. Darlington.

Distribution

La plante ne se trouve spontanément qu'en Oregon et en Californie, sur un axe allant de Roseburg à Santa Rosa et dans un rayon de 80 km à l'ouest et à l'est de l'axe.

Biotope

La diversité des sites et des altitudes où pousse Darlingtonia est telle, que malgré un climat d'ensemble tempéré frais et humide, les différences de températures sont importantes. Les quantités de pluies annuelles sont aussi très variables, de 100 cm à 200 cm suivant les Etats. Les sols dits de serpentine (silicate de magnésium hydraté) présentent de grandes populations de la plante ; des flux d'eau froide continus sous la surface du sol maintiennent des températures fraîches au niveau racinaire. Dans certains milieux, des Sphagnum, Drosera, Pinguicula, Cypripedium... vivent avec le Cobra lily.

Description

Plante vivace herbacée, terrestre, de 40 à 100 cm de haut. Les feuilles vertes, radicales, sont en forme de cornets. La partie supérieure se termine en un dôme, possédant un appendice en forme de « moustache ». L'orifice de l'urne se situe sous le capuchon.

Les pièges sont constitués par les feuilles aux formes suggestives qui capturent les proies. Celles-ci se posent sur les « moustaches » qui sont comme des pistes d'atterrissage. L'insecte pénètre dans l'urne, attiré par le nectar, et glisse sur ce toboggan d'où il ne pourra plus remonter et sera digéré uniquement par des bactéries.

Les proies sont composées le plus souvent d'insectes: Coléoptères, Diptères...

Les fleurs solitaires soutenues par des hampes florales, possèdent des pétales bruns et des sépales verts.

 

La ressemblance
avec une tête de serpent


Darlingtonia en culture

Les fleurs

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander