DIONAEA

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Dionaea muscipula f. rouge

A SINGLE SPECIES


Dionaea muscipula,
and recentrly obtained cultivars.

 

USUAL NAME

Venus flytrap

FAMILY

Droseraceae

 
History and etymology

If the native American are probably the first observers, the governor of North Carolina, A. Dobbs, made for the first time the plant in a letter to the naturalist Collinson in 1759. In England, J. Ellis described the plant and named it Dionaea muscipula in 1768. C. Linnaeus described it a year later as a "Miraculum Naturae" but declined the principle of carnivorous plant. Subsequently several experiments were made, and the work of C. Darwin clarified the existence of carnivorous plants. The name derives from Dionaea Greek mythology Dione who is a nymph Oceans, she is the mother of Aphrodite, his daughter sometimes wears his name.

Distribution

Only in North America, it is located in the states of North and South Carolina. The area of the Dionaea extends from the city of Greenville to the north-east to the south of Georgetown and a radius of 30-100 km to the east and west axis.

Biotope

The plant grows in wet meadows, sandy area with very low organic matter. The warm climate where temperatures can reach 46 °C in the summer, becom cool in winter with minimum of -10 °C. Rainfall in the area can reach 128 cm per year. Other genera of plants such as Drosera, Pinguicula, Sarracenia, Pinus, can grow in the same sites.

Description

Small perennial herbaceous perennial plant, 10 cm to 15 cm in diameter with a pseudobulb. The green leaves jaws-shapped have cilia on their margins. The traps consist of a hinged leaves that close in less than a second.

The prey are mostly insects, Diptera, Hymenoptera, Lepidoptera, but also consist of molluscs, small amphibians.

The flowers are hanged on scapes of 15-25 cm high. They are white and their number is variable (1-15).

The enigmatic
Dionaea "pompom"

Dionaea with giant traps more than 5 cm

Very rare
Dionaea ''snow white''

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

   

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

DIONAEA

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Dionaea muscipula f. rouge

1 SEULE ESPECE


Dionaea muscipula,
plus de nombreux cultivars obtenus récemment.

 

NOMS USUELS

Attrape-mouche de Vénus, Venus flytrap, en anglais

FAMILLE

Droseraceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

Si les Indiens d'Amérique du Nord en sont sûrement les premiers observateurs, c'est le gouverneur de la Caroline du Nord, A. Dobbs qui, en 1759, cita pour la première fois la plante dans une lettre adressée au naturaliste Collinson. En Angleterre, J. Ellis décrivit la plante et la nomma Dionaea muscipula en 1768. C. Linné la qualifia un an plus tard de « Miraculum Naturae » mais refusa le principe de plante carnivore. Par la suite de nombreuses expériences furent faites, et les travaux de C. Darwin vinrent préciser l'existence des végétaux carnivores. L'origine du nom Dionaea découle de la mythologie grecque : Dioné est le nom d'une nymphe des Océans, elle est la mère d'Aphrodite, sa fille porte parfois son nom.

Distribution

Uniquement en Amérique du Nord, elle est localisée dans les Etats de la Caroline du Nord et du Sud. L'aire de la Dionaea s'étend de la ville de Greenville au nord-est jusqu'à celle de Georgetown au sud et sur un rayon de 30 à 100 km à l'est et à l'ouest de l'axe.

Biotope

C'est dans les prairies humides, au sol sablonneux et à très faible teneur en matière organique que se développe la plante. Le climat chaud dont les températures maximales peuvent atteindre 46 °C en été, devient frais l'hiver avec des minimales de -10 °C. La pluviométrie de la zone peut atteindre les 128 cm par an. D'autres végétaux des genres Drosera, Pinguicula, Sarracenia, Pinus, poussent dans les mêmes sites

Description

Petite plante vivace, herbacée, terrestre, de 10 à 15 cm de diamètre, possédant un pseudo-bulbe. Les feuilles vertes en forme de mâchoires possèdent des cils sur leurs périphéries. Les pièges sont constitués par les feuilles articulées, qui se referment en moins d'une seconde. Le déclenchement provoquant la fermeture, est occasionné par l'attouchement des poils disposés en triangle au centre de la feuille. Les captures provoquent la sécrétion d'acides et d'enzymes qui solubilisent les tissus.

Les proies: surtout des insectes, Diptères, Hyménoptères, Lépidoptères, mais aussi des Mollusques, petits Amphibiens.

Les fleurs sont portées par des hampes florales de 15 à 25 cm de haut. Elles sont de couleur blanche et leur nombre est variable (1 à 15).

 

L'Enigmatique Dionaea "pompom"

Dionée à pièges géants
plus de 5 cm


La très rare Dionaea
''blanche neige''

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

   

Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander