DROSOPHYLLUM

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Drosophyllum lusitanicum

A SINGLE SPECIES

Drosophyllum lusitanicum

 

USUAL NAME

Portuguese sundew

FAMILY

Droseraceae

 
History and etymology

Since a long time, long before science gave a name to this plant, the village population of Lusitania, struck by the singular appearance and texture of sticky plant, used it as a flytrap. It is to A. Grisley, that belongs the honor of the first description,in 1661, calling it "Chamaeleontioides. Tournefort made a second description in the Portuguese flora under "Rossolis Lusitanicus maximus" in 1689. Its uniqueness and singularity, lead to giving the name of Drosophyllum in 1806 by to H. F. Link, from the Greek Drosos "dew" and phyllon "leaf".

Distribution

Located in southwestern Europe, and the extreme north of Africa, it grows in Portugal (Porto, Lisbon ...), through to southern Spain (Gibraltar) and the Morocco.

Biotope

Growing strictly in acidic conditions, the plant lives in pine forests on dry sandy or rocky soils. The climate is temperate, half-wet. The phytosociological alliances are often with Pinus pinea, Pinus pineaster, Calluna vulgaris, Erica sp. Note also the promiscuity, perhaps accidental, of some sites with human habitations.

Description

Perennial, half-woody, erected and branched plant, 40-60 cm high. Some specimens may reach more than 1 m. A strong smell of honey escapes from the plant. The yellowish green leaves, filiform, take place in the manner of fiddleheads. Traps are formed by the leaves and flower stalks that release through pedunculated glands, the glue that captures the prey. Sessile glands placed only on the foliar parts have the task to secrete enzymes.

The prey are often insects: Coleoptera, Diptera, Hymenoptera ...

The flowers of 2 to 4 cm in diameter, display a beautiful yellow color. Self-fertilization of the plant running.

The plant
and its seed capsule

Flower

Seed capsule

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

DROSOPHYLLUM

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Drosophyllum lusitanicum

1 SEULE ESPECE

Drosophyllum lusitanicum

 

NOMS USUELS

Pin à rosée, Portuguese sundew, en anglais

FAMILLE

Droseraceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

Depuis très longtemps, bien avant que la science lui donne un nom, la population villageoise de Lusitanie, frappée par l'aspect singulier et la texture collante de la plante, l'utilisa comme attrape-mouche. C'est à A. Grisley, en 1661, que revient l'honneur de la première description, en la nommant "Chamaeleontioides". Tournefort en fit une deuxième description dans sa flore portugaise sous "Rossolis Lusitanicus maximus" en 1689. Sa marginalité et sa singularité, finissent par donner raison en 1806 à H. F. Link en créànt le genre Drosophyllum, issu du grec Drosos "rosée" et de phyllon "feuille".

Distribution

Localisé en Europe du sud-ouest, ainsi qu'à l'extrême nord de l'Afrique, il s'épanouit au Portugal (Porto, Lisbonne...) en passant par l'Espagne du sud (Gibraltar) ainsi qu'au Maroc.

Biotope

Strictement calcifuge, la plante vit dans des pinèdes sèches sur des sols sableux ou rocailleux. Le climat est tempéré, semi-humide. Les alliances phytosociologiques sont souvent Pinus pinea, Pinus pineaster, Calluna vulgaris, Erica sp. Il faut noter aussi la promiscuité, peut-être fortuite, de certains sites avec les habitations humaines.

Description

Plante vivace, serni-ligneuse, dressée et ramifiée de 40 à 60 cm de haut. Certains individus peuvent atteindre plus de 1 m. Une forte odeur de miel s'échappe de la plante. Les feuilles vert jaunâtre, filiformes, se déroulent à la manière des crosses de fougère. Les pièges sont constitués par les feuilles et les tiges florales qui libèrent, grâce à des glandes pédiculées, la glue qui capture les proies. Les glandes sessiles placées uniquement sur les parties foliaires ont la tâche de sécréter les enzymes.

Les proies sont souvent des insectes : Coléoptères, Diptères, Hyménoptères...

Les fleurs de 2 à 4 cm de diamètre arborent une superbe couleur jaune. Auto-fécondation courante de la plante.

 

La plante
et ses capsules de graines

Fleur

Capsules de graines

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander