HELIAMPHORA

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Heliamphora nutans

 MORE THAN 18 SPECIES

H. chimantensis, H. elongata,
H. exappendiculata, H. folliculata,
H. glabra, H. heterodoxa, H. hispida,
H. ionasii, H. minor, H. nutans, H. pulchella,
H. sarracenioides, H. tatei, H. ciliata, H. huberi, H. uncinata, H. neblinae.

and some varieties, forms, natural and horticultural hybrids.

 

USUAL NAMES

Sun pitcher plant or Marsh pitcher plant

FAMILY

Sarraceniaceae

 
History and etymology

In 1838 the naturalist Sir R. Schomburgkdescribed a plant that he had seen on Mount Roraima. Two years later, the English botanist G. Bentham made the publication under the name of Heliamphora nutans. The name comes from the Greek Heliamphora, but uncertainty remains between Helios meaning "sun" and Elos "swamp", amphora meaning simply "urn". There are thus two versions of the sun Urn or marshes Urn.

Distribution

The genus is endemic of south american Tepuys. The area extends from the south, Pico da Neblina (border of Brazil and Venezuela) to the north, Cerro Guaiquinima (Bolivar State). From west to east, Cerro Sipapo (border with Colombia and Venezuela) at Mount Roraima (border of Venezuela and Guyana).

Biotope

Despite the tropical weather, the sandstone plateaux where grow Heliamphora can undergo wide temperature variations due to the altitude that ranges from 1000-3000 meters. The rains are heavy and violent, the fog are thick and cold. The sun can be very important in some seasons. The plants grow in savannas, wetlands, depressions, along streams, on mossy rocks in a peat soil and sand, poor and acidic. Other plants are also found in the same biotopes: Brocchinia, Drosera, Stegolepis ... In these areas, the endemic flora rates can reach 75%.

Description

Perennial herbaceous terrestrial plants, 10 cm to 1.50 m high. The leaves are arranged in a rosette-shaped cones fitted with a small lid. They are green but can sometimes be veined or red tinged.

Traps are formed by the cone-shaped leaves filled with rain water.

The prey, attracted by nectar secretions from the lid, slide over the edge of the pitcher and eventually drown in the bottom. Digestion of preys is due solely to bacteria, the leaf carries out only absorption. The prey are mainly insects: Diptera, Hymenoptera ...

The white or pink flowers are supported by large scapes, which are like tiny flowers of tulips leaning forward.
Flower
of H. heterodoxa x H. minor

Heliamphora folliculata

Heliamphora tatei
(Tepuy Marahuaka)

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

HELIAMPHORA

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Heliamphora nutans

 PLUS DE 18 ESPECES

H. chimantensis, H. elongata,
H. exappendiculata, H. folliculata,
H. glabra, H. heterodoxa, H. hispida,
H. ionasii, H. minor, H. nutans, H. pulchella,
H. sarracenioides, H. tatei, H. ciliata, H. huberi, H. uncinata, H. neblinae.

plus quelques variétés, formes, hybrides naturels et horticoles.

 

 

NOMS USUELS

Héliamphore, Sun pitcher plant ou Marsh pitcher plant, en anglais

FAMILLE

Sarraceniaceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

C'est en 1838 que le naturaliste Sir R. Schomburgk fit une première description d'une plante qu'il avait vue sur le Mont Roraima. Deux ans plus tard, le botaniste anglais G. Bentham en fait la publication sous le nom de Heliamphora nutans. L'origine du nom Heliamphora provient du grec, mais une incertitude demeure entre Hélios signifiant « soleil » et Elos « marais », amphora signifiant simplement « urne ». On trouve donc deux versions Urne du soleil ou Urne des marais.

Distribution

Le genre est endémique des Tepuys en Amérique du Sud. La zone s'étend du sud, Pico da Néblina (frontière du Brésil et du Venezuela) au nord, Cerro Guaiquinima (Etat de Bolivar). De l'ouest à l'est, du Cerro Sipapo (frontière de la Colombie et du Venezuela) au Mont Roraima, (frontière du Venezuela et du Guyana).

Biotope

Malgré le climat tropical, les plateaux gréseux où poussent les Heliamphora peuvent subir de grandes amplitudes thermiques dues à l'altitude qui varie de 1000 à 3000 mètres. Les pluies y sont violentes et abondantes, les brouillards épais et froids. L'ensoleillement peut être très important à certaines saisons. Les plantes se développent dans des savanes humides, des dépressions, au bord des ruisseaux, sur des rochers moussus, dans un sol tourbeux et sableux, pauvre et acide. D'autres végétaux se trouvent aussi dans les mêmes biotopes : Brocchinia, Drosera, Stegolepis... Dans ces régions, la flore endémique est de 75 %.

Description

Plantes vivaces herbacées et terrestres de 10 cm à 1,50 m de haut. Les feuilles disposées en rosette ont la forme de cornets munis d'un petit opercule. De couleur verte elles peuvent parfois se veiner ou se teinter de rouge.

Les pièges sont constitués par les feuilles en forme de cornets remplis d'eau.

Les proies, attirées par les sécrétions de nectar provenant du capuchon, glissent sur les bords de l'urne et finissent par se noyer dans le fond de celle-ci. La digestion des captures est due uniquement aux bactéries, la feuille ne réalise que l'absorption. Les proies sont en grande partie des insectes: Diptères, Hyménoptères...

Les fleurs blanches ou roses sont soutenues par de grandes hampes, qui font penser à de petites fleurs de tulipes penchées en avant.

 

Fleur
de H. heterodoxa x H. minor

Heliamphora folliculata

Heliamphora tatei
(Tepuy Marahuaka)

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander