NEPENTHES

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Nephentes ampullaria "urne rouge"

MORE THAN 113 SPECIES

numerous variety, forms and natural and horticultural hybrids

 

USUAL NAME

Monkeys cup

FAMILY

Nepenthaceae

 
History and etymology

In 1658 the governor of Madagascar, E. de Flacourt, made a preliminary description of this genus and was given the name Amramitico in the same year. In 1689 JP Breyne named it Nepenthes, JD Hooker and L. Tate demonstrated the plant digestion ablility and the presence of enzymes in 1874 and 1875. The name comes from the Greek Nepenthe means "without sorrow": dispel the gloom.

Distribution

The growing Nepenthes area extends from Madagascar island and the Comoros in the west, to the New Caledonia to the east. A maximum of species are located in Southeast Asia: Malaysia, Sumatra, Borneo, Java, Celebes, Philippines, New Guinea.

Biotope

The plants growsunder a tropical climate. They inhabit marshes, forests, mossy rocks, edges of ponds, brackish water, some are even epiphytes.

Their distribution is done according to species, the sea level to over 3500 m. Temperatures can undergo significant differences between day and night as soon as the altitude increases. Rainfall is often heavy, sometimes with persistent fog, the famous Nepenthes rajah living in Borneo receives over 150 inches of rain per year. The soil in which plants grow is very different: soil called serpentine (hydrated magnesium silicate), sandy soil (sometimes high in sea salt), marshes, granite soil. The orchid genus Malaxis, Paphiopedilum, Phalaenopsis etc... can sometimes thrive in their company.

Description

Perennials, herbaceous or semi-woody, terrestrial or epiphytic, often climbing from tens of centimeters to several meters. The leaves are green, leathery, lanceolate, sometimes spatulate, are fitted at one end by a tendril bearing an urn with a lid.

The traps are located at the tip of the leaves and transformed into ascidians, often with a cylindrical upper portion: the peristome. The shapes and colors are variable and the size ranges from 5 cm to 35 cm high.

The prey are attracted by the nectar secreted by the traps and eventually slide into the bottom of the pitcher where they drown. Enzymes break down the tissues and absorption occurs through glands. The prey are heterogeneous in their origins and their sizes: Coleoptera, Diptera, myriapods ... Frogs and young rats very occasionally, .

The small flowers without petals are united in panicle. The plants are male and female: the flowers are in capitulum.

 

Nepenthes boschiana

Nepenthes female
floral scape

Nepenthes chaniana

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

NEPENTHES

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Nephentes ampullaria "urne rouge"

PLUS DE 113 ESPECES

de nombreuses variétés et formes, ainsi qu'une quantité importante d'hybrides horticoles et naturels

 

NOMS USUELS

Tasses à singe, Monkeys cup, en anglais

FAMILLE

Nepenthaceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

C'est en 1658 que le gouverneur de Madagascar, E.Flacourt, fit une première description de ce genre la même année on lui donne le nom de Amramitico.En 1689, J.P. Breyne le baptise Nepenthes ; J.D. Hooker et L. Tate démontreront chez la plante une digestion et la présence d'enzymes en 1874 et en 1875. L'origine du nom provient du grec Nepenthe qui signifie « sans deuil » : dissiper la tristesse.

Distribution

La zone de pousse des Nepenthes s'étend de l'île de Madagascar et des Comores à l'ouest, jusqu'à la Nouvelle-Calédonie à l'est. Un maximum d'espèces sont localisées en Asie du Sud-Est : Malaisie, Sumatra, Bornéo, Java, Célèbes, Philippines, Nouvelle-Guinée.

Biotope

C'est sous un climat tropical humide que se développent les Nepenthes. Ils colonisent les marais, les forêts moussues, les rochers, les bords d'étangs à eaux saumâtres, certains sont même épiphytes.

Leur répartition s'effectue suivant les espèces, du niveau de la mer jusqu'à plus de 3500 m. Les températures peuvent subir des écarts importants entre le jour et la nuit dès que l'altitude augmente. Les précipitations sont souvent abondantes, avec parfois des brouillards tenaces ; le célèbre Nepenthes rajah vivant à Bornéo reçoit plus de 150 cm de pluie par an. Les sols dans lesquels croissent les plantes sont très divers: sol dit de serpentine (silicate de magnésium hydraté), sol sableux (parfois à forte teneur en sel de mer), marais, sol granitique. Des orchidées du genre Malaxis, Paphiopedilum, Phalaenopsis... s'épanouissent parfois en leur compagnie.

Description

Plantes vivaces, herbacées ou semi-ligneuses, terrestres ou épiphytes, souvent lianiformes, hautes de quelques dizaines de centimètres à plusieurs mètres. Les feuilles vertes, coriaces, lancéolées, parfois spatulées, sont munies à une extrémité d'une vrille supportant une urne avec un opercule.

Les pièges sont situés à l'extrémité des feuilles transformées en ascidies, souvent cylindriques dont la partie supérieure possède un péristome. Les formes et les couleurs sont variables ainsi que la taille, de 5 cm à 35 cm de haut.

Les proies attirées par le nectar que sécrètent les pièges finissent par glisser dans le fond de l'urne où elles se noient. Des enzymes dégradent les tissus et l'absorption se fait grâce à des glandes. Les proies sont hétérogènes par leurs origines et leurs tailles: Coléoptères, Diptères, Myriapodes ... et très épisodiquement Batraciens, jeunes rats.

Les fleurs petites sans pétales, sont réunies en panicule. Ils existent des plantes de sexe mâle et d'autres de sexe femelle : les fleurs sont donc appelées didiques.

 

Nepenthes boschiana

Hampe florale de fleurs femelle

Nepenthes chaniana

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander