SARRACENIA

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Sarracenia purpurea subsp. venosa

16 SPECIES

 Some variety, natural and horticultural hybrids and cultivars.

 

USUAL NAMES

Trumpet plant, Pitcher-plant or Trumpet-leaf.

FAMILY

Sarraceniaceae

 
History and etymology

If the genus was officillaly discovered near the year 1500, iIt seems that native american knew and used these trumpet plants. The first illustration was done by M. de Lobel in 1576 in Nova Stirpium Adversiaria. After several naming, the plant was named by J. P. de Tournefort « Sarracena » after Dr. M.S. Sarrazin, who sent him the plant in order to study them.

Distribution

Sarracenia grow in North America. Their distribution ranges from Great Slave lake in Canada to Boston, on a width of about 500 km don each sides of this axis. They also grow on a 500 km-wide strip that runs from Washington to the north of Houston, Texas.

Biotope

Sarracenia occurs on bogs, marshes, grasslands, wetlands, floating rafts of Sphagnum. The wethers are very varied due to the large plant repartition, from cold to subtropical regions. The soil are mainly acid (rarely alkaline) and low in nitrate and phosphate concentration. These plants do not tolerate competition from other species, but can occur with carnivores genera such as Drosera, Pinguicula, Utricularia.

Description

Perennial herbaceous terrstrial plants, 10 cm to 1 m tall. The cones-shaped leaf are erected or prostrated on the ground and displays very different color, they are united in a rosette. Some species emit winter flat sheets and strips called phyllodes. Traps are formed by leaves or boxes in which fall insects, attracted by the colors and the nectar that pearl at the lid. Prey also absorb a narcotic: coniine. Digestion is performed by bacteria and enzymes. The prey are varied: Diptera, Hymenoptera, small crustaceans ... The spring flowers (3-8 cm in diameter) have an original architecture and a wide range of colors (yellow, pink, red, orange, brown ...)

 

Exceptional white flower of
S. alata

Bunch of flower

Strane flower
of Sarracenia 'Tarnock'

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

SARRACENIA

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Sarracenia purpurea subsp. venosa

16 ESPECES

 quelques variétés, ainsi que des hybrides naturels, horticoles et des cultivars.

 

NOMS USUELS

Plante trompette, Pitcher-plant ou Trumpet-leaf, en anglais.

FAMILLE

Sarraceniaceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

Si le genre fut officiellement découvert vers 1500, il semblerait que les Indiens connaissaient et utilisaient déjà ces herbes trompettes. La première illustration d'une plante fut faite par M. de Lobel en 1576 dans Nova Stirpium Adversiaria. Après avoir reçu plusieurs noms, la plante est enfin nommée par J. P. de Tournefort « Sarracena » en l'honneur du physicien canadien Dr. M.S. Sarrazin, qui lui avait expédié des plantes pour étude.

Distribution

Les Sarracenia sont originaires de l'Amérique du Nord. Leur territoire de pousse s'étend approximativement du lac Great Slave au Canada jusqu'à Boston, sur un rayon de 500 km de part et d'autre de cet axe. Elles croissent aussi sur une bande large de 500 km qui va de Washington au nord de Houston, au Texas.

Biotope

C'est dans les tourbières, les marais, les prairies humides, les radeaux flottants de sphaignes que se développent les Sarracenia. Les climats sont très divers vue la répartition des plantes, ils s'échelonnent des régions froides jusqu'aux régions subtropicales. Les sols sont pour la grande majorité acides (très rarement alcalins) et pauvres en nitrate et en phosphate. Les plantes ne tolèrent guère la concurrence d'autres espèces, mais on peut trouver quelques Genres carnivores comme Drosera, Pinguicula, Utricularia, en leur compagnie.

Description

Plantes vivaces, herbacées, terrestres de 10 cm à 1 m de haut. Les feuilles en forme de cornets érigées ou prostrées au sol sont de couleurs très variées, elles sont réunies en rosette. Certaines espèces émettent en hiver des feuilles plates et en lanières nommées phyllodes. Les pièges sont formés par les feuilles ou les urnes dans lesquelles, viennent choir les insectes, attirés par les couleurs et le nectar qui perle au niveau du capuchon. Les proies absorberaient aussi en butinant un narcotique: la coniine. La digestion est effectuée par des bactéries et des enzymes. Les proies sont variées : Diptères, Hyménoptères, petits crustacés... Les fleurs printanières (3 à 8 cm de diamètre) ont une architecture originale et une large gamme de coloris (jaune, rose, rouge, orange, brun...)

 

Exceptionelle
fleur blanche de S. alata

Bouquet

Etrange fleur
de Sarracenia 'Tarnock'

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander