Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Triphyophyllum peltatum

SEVERAL SPECIES OF WHICH ONE IS CARNIVOROUS

Triphyophyllum peltatum

 

USUAL NAME

Unkown

FAMILY

Dioncophylaceae

 
History and etymology

A. Chevalier discovered this plant in Ivory Coast in 1907, and was named Ouratea glomerata. Later, J.M. Dalziel and J. Hutchinson, renamed the plant Dioncophyllum peltanum in 1927 ; surely it must "thank" H. K. Airy Shaw who ended these numerous naming in 1951 by naming the plant Triphyophyllum peltanum. It was recognised as carnivorous at some precise growth steps in 1979, by J. E. Marburger and T. L. Green. The greek origin of this name means: "three kinds of leaves".

Distribution

The plant grows in western Africa, in the country of Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ivory Coast.

Biotope

Triphyophyllum grows in primary and secondary forests. The plant benefit of a tropical weather with temperature variyng between 25  °C à 30 °C, and a high hygrometry. The plant undergoes the alternation of the dry and wet season . The soils are often composed of laterite and have an acidic pH and a low mineral concentration.

Description

Perennial terrestrial climbing plant (up to 50 m). It does exist three kind of leaves. The first are present along the life span and are lanceolate. The second are oblong on their lower parts and became filiform and covered by glandular hairs on the rest of the leaves.  The third are ablong, acuminate and develop a tendril that allows the plant to climb at the top of the trees, they appear only at the mature stage of the plants.

The traps are on the second kind of leaves, which appear only at the juvenile step of plant development. They stick the preys with peduncle glands and the sessiles glands provide the digestive enzymes.

The preys are varied: Diptera, Coleoptera, Arachnids...

The white flowers give some redish seeds saucer-shaped that can be carried by wind over long distances.


Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Triphyophyllum peltatum

PLUSIEURS ESPECES DONT UNE CARNIVORE

Triphyophyllum peltatum

 

NOMS USUELS

Inconnus

FAMILLE

Dioncophylaceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

C'est en 1907 que fut découverte la plante en Côte-d'Ivoire par A. Chevalier, et fut baptisée Ouratea glomerata. Par la suite, J.M. Dalziel et J. Hutchinson, en 1927, la rebaptisèrent Dioncophyllum peltanum ; elle doit sûrement « remercier » H. K. Airy Shaw qui, en 1951, met un terme à ces nombreux baptêmes en la nommant Triphyophyllum peltanum. 1979 sera l'année de la reconnaissance carnivore de la plante à une certaine époque de sa croissance, par J. E. Marburger et T. L. Green. L'origine grecque du nom signifierait: « trois types de feuilles ».

Distribution

La plante se développe en Afrique de l'Ouest, dans les états de Guinée, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Côte-d'Ivoire.

Biotope

C'est dans les forêts primaires et secondaires que pousse Triphyophyllum. La plante jouit d'un climat tropical avec des températures moyennes de 25 à 30, et une forte hygrométrie. La plante subit l'alternance de la saison sèche, puis humide. Les sols constitués souvent de latérite ont un pH acide et une faible minéralité.

Description

Plantes vivaces, terrestres, lianiformes de 50 m de long. Les feuilles vertes sont de trois types. Les premières accompagnent la plante pendant toute sa durée de vie et ont une forme lancéolée. Les deuxièmes oblongues sur leur partie inférieure deviennent filiformes et sont couvertes de poils glanduleux sur le reste de la feuille. Les troisièmes, oblongues, acuminées, développent une vrille qui permet à la plante de grimper aux sommets des arbres, elles n'apparaissent qu'au stade adulte de la plante.

Les pièges se trouvent sur les feuilles du deuxième type, qui apparaissent au stade jeune de la plante. Elles engluent les proies grâce à des glandes pédonculées, et des glandes sessiles libèrent des enzymes digestifs.

Les proies sont diverses : Diptères, Coléoptères, Arachnides...

Les fleurs blanches donnent naissance à des graines rougeâtres en forme de soucoupe qui pourront être emportées par le vent sur des distances importantes.


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander