UTRICULARIA

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Utricularia multifida

MORE THAN 225 SPECIES

(The genus Biovularia and Polypompholyx were incorporated to the Utricularia), horticultural hybrids and cultivars

 

USUAL NAME

Bladderwort

FAMILY

Lentibulariaceae

 
History and etymology

One of these plant is famous in Europe since a long time, first named Millefolium palustris, she will became later Lentibularia by S. Vaillant. C. Linneus named the genus Utricularia in 1753. In 1 857, Cohn observed numerous preys catched by the traps ; in 1875, C. Darwin noted the absorption by the bladders of the compounds from the prey decomposition. In 1910, Luetzelburg showed the enzymatic digestion. The name come from the Utriculus which means "small bladder", making en allusion to the traps appearance.

Distribution

The large repartition of the genus allow to observe the species en th five continents, except the polar and desrertic lands.

Biotope

They like the pools, ponds, backwaters of rivers, bogs, banks of streams, wet rocks, mossy places, and very rarely (for Utricularia humboldtii) the rosette leaves of some water-filled bromeliads. The soils are often poor, acidic or alkaline for terrestrial pecies. Aquatic or semi-aquatic Utricularia grow in water of the same nature. The climates are very different given the distribution of plants, they range from cold regions to the tropics. Some carnivorous genuss coexist: Drosera, Pinguicula, Sarracenia.

Description

Herbaceous plants, rootless, perennial or annual. They may be terrestrial, aquatic, semi-aquatic or epiphytic. Their size varies from few millimeters to several tens of centimeters. The leaves are of two kinds: the first green whose shape (strips, reniform, rhombic ...) and size vary among species. Seconds translucent and very small sized, are shaped like small bottles.

Traps are formed by the leaves of the second type which function as "vacuum cleaners".

The prey touch sensitive hairs that drive the opening of a valve, a suction to the inside of the pocket occurs, followed by rapid digestion.

 

Utricularia endresii

Utricularia resupinata

Utricularia tenella

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

UTRICULARIA

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Utricularia multifida

PLUS DE 225 ESPECES

(les genres Biovularia et Polypompholyx ont été rattachés aux Utricularia) et des hyrides horticole et des cultivars

 

NOMS USUELS

Mille-feuilles des marais, Bladderwort, en anglais

FAMILLE

Lentibulariaceae

 
Histoire et étymologie

Une de ces plantes est connue en Europe depuis fort longtemps, nommée d'abord Millefolium palustris, elle devient par la suite Lentibularia grâce à S. Vaillant. C'est C. Linné, en 1753, qui baptisa le genre Utricularia. En 1 857, Cohn observe les nombreuses proies capturées par les pièges ; en 1875, C. Darwin note l'absorption par les utricules des produits de décomposition provenant des captures. En 1910, Luetzelburg met en évidence la digestion par des enzymes. Le nom provient du latin Utriculus signifiant « petite outre », allusion à l'aspect des pièges.

Distribution

La vaste répartition du genre, permet de rencontrer des espèces sur les cinq continents, on doit seulement exclure les régions polaires et désertiques.

Biotope

Elles affectionnent les mares, les étangs, les bras morts des rivières, les tourbières, les berges des ruisseaux, les rochers humides, les endroits moussus et très rarement (pour Utricularia humboldtii) les rosettes de feuilles remplis d'eau de certaines Broméliacées. Les sols sont souvent pauvres, acides ou alcalins pour les espèces terrestres, les Utricularia aquatiques ou semi-aquatiques ont des eaux de même nature. Les climats sont très divers vu la distribution des plantes, ils s'échelonnent des régions froides aux régions tropicales. Certains genres carnivores les côtoient: Drosera, Pinguicula, Sarracenia.

Description

Plantes herbacées, sans racines, vivaces ou annuelles. Elles peuvent être terrestres, aquatiques, semi-aquatiques ou épiphytes. Leur taille est très variable, de quelques millimètres à plusieurs dizaines de centimètres. Les feuilles sont de deux sortes: les premières de couleur verte dont la forme (en lanières, réniforme, rhomboïdal ... ) et la dimension varient suivant les espèces. Les secondes translucides et de toute petite taille, ont la forme de petites outres.

Les pièges sont constitués par les feuilles du second type qui fonctionnent comme des « aspirateurs ».

La proie touche des poils sensitifs qui actionnent l'ouverture d'un clapet, une aspiration vers l'intérieur de la poche se produit, suivi d'une digestion rapide.

 

Utricularia endresii

Utricularia resupinata

Utricularia tenella

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander