PINGUICULA

 

Back to PLANTS ABC

 

Pinguicula ionantha

MORE THAN 96 SPECIES

and numerous varieties, forms and natural and horticultural hybrids

 

USUAL NAME

Butterwort

 
History and etymology

The knowledge and uses of these plants are very old, the Pinguicula apperaed in the XV century. In about 1873, W. Marshall assume the possible carnivory of the gender and communicate its findings to C. Darwin, who, in 1875, confirms that Pinguicula are carnivorous plants. The name comes from the Latin pinguis, meaning "fat", referring to the greasy leaves.

Distribution

Except a few species that grow in the Southern Hemisphere (Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Argentina, Chile), the vast majority is located in Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean and other tropical regions, temperate and arctic Northern Hemisphere.

Biotope

Considering their distribution in the world, the climatic conditions under which these plants grow are highly variable, ranging from warm, temperate and cold weathers. They like damp places, marshes, bogs, stream edges, oozing rocks, mossy trees, from sea level to the high mountains. The soils are very different and could be acidic, alkaline or neutral. In some settings other carnivores genera (Drosera, Sarracenia...) occurs with them.

Description

Perennials herbaceous terrestrial or epiphytic plants, 2cm to 60 cm in diameter. Leaves are green or yellow, sometimes tinged with pink and display variable shapes (oblong, lanceolate ...) and gathered into a rosette.

Traps are formed by the leaves, densely covered by glandular hairs that catch prey and enzymatically digest them.

The prey are small Diptera, Lepidoptera ...

The flowers (pink, white, purple, blue or yellow) are very beautiful and sometimes abundant.

 

Pinguicula lilacina

Pinguicula poldinii

Pinguicula villosa

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg

 




Search

PayPal

Cart  

No products

Shipping 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Prices are tax included

Check out

PINGUICULA

 

Revenir à l'ABC DES PLANTES

 

Pinguicula ionantha

PLUS DE 96 ESPECES

plus de nombreuses variétés et formes ainsi que des hybrides naturels et horticoles

 

NOMS USUELS

Grassettes, Butterwort, en anglais

 
Histoire et étymologie

La connaissance et l'utilisation de ces plantes est fort ancienne, le nom de Pinguicula est apparu dès le XVe siècle. Vers 1873, W. Marshall présume de la possible carnivorité du Genre et communique ses observations à C. Darwin, qui, en 1875, confirme que les Pinguicula sont des plantes carnivores. Le nom provient du latin pinguis qui signifie « gras », en allusion à l'aspect graisseux des feuilles.

Distribution

A part quelques espèces se développant dans l'hémisphère Sud (Equateur, Pérou, Bolivie, Argentine, Chili), la plus grande majorité se situe au Mexique, en Amérique Centrale, dans la région des Caraïbes et dans d'autres contrées tropicales, tempérées et arctiques de l'hémisphère Nord.

Biotope

En considérant leur répartition au niveau du globe terrestre, les conditions climatiques sous lesquelles poussent ces plantes sont très variables: climats chauds, tempérés, froids. Elles affectionnent les lieux humides, marais, tourbières, bords de ruisseau, rochers suintants, arbres moussus, du niveau de la mer jusqu'aux hautes montagnes. Les sols sont très divers à pH acide, alcalin ou neutre. Dans certains milieux d'autres Genres carnivores (Drosera, Sarracenia...) se retrouvent en leur compagnie

Description

Plantes vivaces, herbacées, terrestres ou épiphytes de 2 à 60 cm de diamètre. Les feuilles vertes ou jaunes, parfois teintées de rose, sont de formes variables (oblongues, lancéolées...) et réunies en rosette.

Les pièges sont constitués par les feuilles, abondamment couvertes de poils glanduleux qui capturent des proies la digestion est enzymatique.

Les proies sont de petits Diptères, Lépidoptères...

Les fleurs (roses, blanches, mauves, bleues ou jaunes) sont très belles et parfois abondantes.

 

Pinguicula lilacina

Pinguicula poldinii

Pinguicula villosa

genlisea.jpg

drosera_mod2.jpg

utricula_mod2.jpg


Rechercher

PayPal

Panier  

Aucun produit

Expédition 0,00 €
Total 0,00 €

Les prix sont TTC

Commander